Chairman – Harry Seijmonsbergen was born in 1961 in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, and studied Physical Geography at the University of Amsterdam. During his Master and PhD research he developed methods for the evaluation of natural hazards based on detailed geomorphological mapping in Vorarlberg. Currently his research in the Computational Geo-Ecology group at the University of Amsterdam focuses on the functioning of Geo-Ecosystems by using digital terrain models, geographical information systems and remote sensing.

Secretary and Treasurer – Mat De Jong was born in 1954 in Meerssen, The Netherlands. He studied Physical Geography at the University of Amsterdam, where he received his PhD degree in 1983. Since then, he has worked in the oil and gas industry. He has combined this work with research activities in Quaternary geology and geomorphology, mainly in Vorarlberg and the adjacent Alpine foreland.